Home | About | Products | Blog

Straightening comb

I am completely new to beekeeping. In the section on Top Bar Management on the website, it states that if the comb is not straight, “you’ll need to gently push it back into place on the bar”. Ummm…how exactly is this done? Especially when it is covered with bees? How do you keep from accidentally breaking off the comb?

Thanks,  Susan

Susan,

Thanks for your message. If the crooked comb is caught early it can usually be pushed straight with little to no issues. You can either brush the bees off of the comb, or just move them out of the way. If you’re wearing gloves this is easier than you’d expect! When combs are freshly built they are soft and malleable. Over time, however, they become much harder – especially if it’s cold out. If you wait too long to fix it, the comb has a higher chance of breaking rather than bending in the right shape.

Combs usually become crooked for a reason. It is often because of fat honey combs being built, forcing the bees to shift the next comb over to accommodate bee space. If you notice your bees beginning to make these fat combs, I would just begin to leave 1/8" gaps between the bars so that they don’t make them crooked. Others use different sized bars or use spacers. I find this to make things too complicated. The gaps work great for me.

Best,

Matt

We have major probems here in south Alabama with small hive beetles. Wouldn’t leaving 1/8 inch gaps between bars give the beetles more places to hide?

It absolutely would give SHB more places to hide. In places with SHB you may want to use spacers to minimize this. We don’t have small hive beetles here in Oregon, so this method works fine.

Matt

Matt - I’m a new beekeeper as well, and want to learn from my mistakes so the bees don’t have to suffer from my stupidity more than once.