Home | About | Products | Blog

Queen or no queen? Newbie help, please

I am a newbie and I got started very late in the season. Set up my TBH a week ago with package Italian/hybrid bees and a caged laying queen from a beekeeper a couple of hours from me. Seller was generous, gave me almost 5 pounds of bees. I placed a follower board at one end and waxed the first 10 bars next and then placed four more bars in and placed two quart syrup feeders in the hive bottom, and placed the second follower board there, giving them about half the depth of the hive. Was high 90s last week in Kansas and I thought they might need two entrance holes for ventilation. Perhaps not because they have almost completely sealed one of the entrances.

Checked two days later and the queen had been released. There was a 5" diameter comb started on the first top bar that looked real nice. I did not find the queen. I am a newbie, was hard for me to look for her with that many bees and only a little comb, there were bees everywhere.

Checked the hive at 5 days and I have 7 bars with real nice straight comb, progressively getting larger as it goes to the bars at the (hmmm…is that the front or back) of the hive. I see a little pollen, lots of cells with clear fluid but I don’t think I see brood comb. Granted, I’m a newbie and I did not spend a great deal of time in the hive, tried to be fairly quick in and out since I haven’t got my technique down yet but I did get the bars pulled and put back in place in good shape.

Thought I would check again in two or three days and perhaps if there were brood comb…maybe it would be capped by then and more obvious?

If this colony were queenless, would they continue to build this wonderful comb and fill it with pollen and honey or shall I be concerned that I need to be getting a new queen in there?