Home | About | Products | Blog

Queen Excluder and Bee Space

I am new to bee keeping - have only been at it for a year now. I currently have a three medium box hive with a Queen excluder between the the two brood boxes and the honey super. I have found that when replacing frames in the honey super, there is no bee space between the bottom of the honey super frames and the Queen excluder, which makes it almost impossible to replace frames without squashing bees… get a little propolis or wax on there and I have trouble even getting the frames to stand upright because they no longer hang from the box but sit on the excluder.

I have only ever used bee thinking langstroth boxes, so was curious if anyone else has had this problem and was curious what other people were doing to fix this. I have temporarily added a spacer between the excluder and the top box, but now I have bee space above and below the excluder - will that be a problem down the track?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Howdy, and thank you for reaching out to us! Congratulations on what seems to sound like a successful first year of beekeeping. Your medium set up, in the 8F set up is our most popular Langstroth configuration. Here are some thoughts I have in

1. Squashing of bees is ALWAYS a concern to every beekeeper, and I suggest trying a new method. Instead on putting the frames down directly, have 2 or more frames out, and try to drop the frames on one side, and slide (or sweep) them into place. This will scurry the bees to safety.
  2. Use of the queen excluder, if stacked with comb + propolis can push up the frames from underneath, it’s suggested that though these are beneficial in to bees, you might want to wipe the excluder down upon each inspection to ensure this isn’t the case.