Home | About | Products | Blog

Not Happy Bees

I’ve been keeping bees in Langstroth hives for 7 years. This year have 2 new packages; one in Langstroth, one in new Warre. We hived them on Saturday afternoon, 3 days ago. The Langstroth gals seem fine. The Warre bees are not fine.

The Warre bottom rests on a pair of cinder blocks, carefully leveled. There are 3 boxes; bottom one doesn’t yet have the top bars in place; the second has waxed top bars and double layer muslin over them, with hole in middle for a jar feeder, and the third is making space for a jar feeder resting on the bars of box 2. Above that the canvas-bottom box of leaves and the outer cover, which has a copper roof. Setting is a hill above a pond, facing south-east, with good morning & mid-day sun exposure and some shade to the west.

The bees are irritable, loud, and chase me off. A lot of wild activity around the hive during the day, zooming around in circles. There’s a small (fist-sized) cluster on the outside of the hive (as dusk falls at 7:30 pm) on the top box. I intended to put the top bars in the bottom box today, but the vibe was so aggressive so I didn’t want to poke around.

I’m not sure what is causing the problem; maybe they didn’t accept the queen or she didn’t survive release.There are a lot of thatch ants around the outside of the hive; I don’t think they can get in much but maybe they found a chink. I’m going to look tomorrow morning, put the bars in the bottom box, refresh the feeder jar. It feels like they are planning to abscond & I’d rather they did not. After a lot of winter losses in Langstroth I’ve been hoping the Warre would be a solution, but right now I’m not feeling good about it. any ideas from the Warre-literate?

MargotBee,

Sounds like a “hot” colony. I doubt it has anything to do with the type of hive, but the genetics of the colony itself.