Home | About | Products | Blog

Complete newbie question

Hello folks, I’ve been fascinated by bees for years, but only just half an hour ago ordered my first hive. It’s a top bar, and it’s coming unpainted (I thought I’d match it to the house) but I wanted to know if there was a good treatment for the inside? I live over here in Tigard (I am NOT telling my b**** of a neighbor that I’m going to get bees) and we all know how damp it can get. I’ve seen where some folks have suggested linseed oil, and many just leave the inside untreated - but again, this area can and will stay wet for a long time…

Cris,

I highly recommend leaving the inside untreated. The bees will propolize the inside of the hive to their own specifications. :) The outside you can certainly paint or treat with oil. I recommend tung oil, as it is natural and it will do a good job at sealing the wood. However, it won’t do much to protect the wood from sun damage. If you are looking to avoid sun damage AND keep the hive dry, paint is a good way to go.

Good luck with your hive and please let me know if you need any help! (We’re just over here in Milwaukie/Oak Grove).

Cheers,

Matt

Coolness. Ok, so more newb stuff: after doing a bunch of comparison of different bees I’ve tentatively decided on carniolans, for their itallian-like temperments and slightly better damp tolerance. Are there any better choices?

Cris,