Home | About | Products | Blog

Comb Damage, Wires or not?

Hi, I’m new to beekeeping. I started two hives this past, late summer/fall, Not the best time, but they were cut outs that no one would help me with, so I took it upon myself to remove them and enjoyed working with the bees. Had almost every problem you could think of in the past 5 months and still managed to recover both hives and get them strong enough for winter. I will have to feed a little bit, so I will keep an eye on them throughout the winter.
Now my question, I was attacked by either a small bear or coyotes, they or it knocked over my best hive. Thank goodness I had ratchet straps on it. They did manage to shift the boxes and remove three frames, some honey, but they also got the small brood nest. The queen survived that attack, but my hive was reduced to one deep due to the comb damage when it was tipped over.
Impact smashed almost all the top box comb into barely usable pieces and pancaked most of the bottom box. I rubber banded the best I could to fill one deep and get them back in order. One week later I was attacked again, this time just tipped over. I had just finished my winter prep and placed a candy board on, of which has now been shattered into dust. The rubber bands must have acted like shock absorbers because the comb didn’t look any worse for wear this time. I was able to find my queen again although she has learned to run like a Olympic sprinter now. Do you recommend running at least a middle wire in your deeps to help support the foundationless comb. I know this was extreme, but I feel that if I had some support, some of the comb may have stayed intact. I am currently in the process of installing an ELECTRIC fence to guard my whole, “144 square feet,” from attack again. I don’t think they will survive another attack this fall.