Home | About | Products | Blog

Comb Collapse

It is about 89 degrees and I just went out to inspect my hives. Although I was extremely gentle and slow with the top bars, always keeping them vertical, two combs just collapsed onto the floor of the hive. I don’t know what is in the cells - some pollen and nectar for sure, but not sure if there’s brood.

Was this too hot to open my hive? I thought they kept it at around 94 degrees, so I tried to time it so the air temperature outside was close to their ideal temperature as well as choosing a time of day when they were out foraging. The hives are in the sun because of how cold it gets here in the winter.

I’m not sure what to do now. I closed up the hive quickly. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

oh, I don’t have the foggiest idea honeybee … I’m just a newbie as well, hopefully someone will be along soon to help you, and I’ll stay tuned!

THanks, CD43. I haven’t been able to get any advice yet, but I did move the fallen comb away from the intact comb so they wouldn’t draw the two together and create even worse problems. The comb was incredibly soft because it’s new and because of the heat. It was impossible to pick up or move without falling apart. I’m letting them clean up as much of it as they can and then I’m going to get it out of there. Poor bees.

I bet you have some high temps already in Texas. Today I put a piece of silver reflective stuff - one of those screens people put in their car windows to keep the sun out- over the top of the hive and held it down with a big rock. That seemed to keep it quite a bit cooler under there. I will try to think of some more permanent solutions for creating shade during the midday heat.

Hope all is going well in your bees’ world.